The Season of Lent

Cross & Bible

For the past few years I have begun to observe the Season of Lent.  Growing up in a Classical Pentecostal setting, this was not something that I had ever done before.  In fact, I wasn’t even really aware that some Protestants observed Lent until I came to college.  It all began with a flyer from a group at Lee University called the Liturgical Charismatic Fellowship, sponsored by the Rev. Mitch Baker.  I decided to attend the Ash Wednesday service more out of curiosity than anything else.  During the service, Lent was explained as a time of prayer, fasting, and devotion to the simplicity of the Christian faith.  It sounded good to me, so I decided to give it a try.

Skip forward a couple of years, and although I still get some strange looks and responses from the people around me, I’ve found that I really enjoy setting aside this portion of the year to really focus on God and my relationship with and to Him.  If you have never observed Lent before, I encourage you to consider it this year.  Lent can be a great time of introspection and evaluation, and I think you will find that the sacrificial aspects are far outweighed by the spiritual benefits.

The Lenten devotional that I’m using is entitled “Holy Habit for the Holy Season of Lent”.  Today’s devotion was about prayer and how it serves to keep us connected with the Source of our life.  Therefore, I will end this post with a short prayer:

Holy Father, as we begin this period of prayer and fasting, I pray that you would help us to focus on You and Your Word.  Help us to slow down enough to truly engage You and listen to what You would speak into our lives.  Thank you for this opportunity to draw closer to you and to return to the simple foundations of our faith.  Strengthen us as we daily submit ourselves to You, and let Your Holy Spirit rest upon us in new and powerful ways, so that we may show Your glory to the world.  We humbly request this in the name of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  Amen.

Categories: Religion | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

